• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size


Email Print PDF




The Election Commission of India today issued notification to fill the vacancy of President of India caused by the expiration of the term of office of Shri Pranab Mukharjee on 24Th july 2017.

Disclosing this here an official Spokesman of Election Commission of India said that Mr. Anoop Mishra, Secretary General, Lok Sabha has been appointed Returning Officer for this election.  He said that The Election Commission has also announced the schedule for the President Poll.  Nomination papers may be delivered by a candidate or any one of his proposers or seconders to the Returning Officer at his office in Room No. 18, Ground Floor, Parliament House, New Delhi, or if he is unavoidably absent, to the Assistant Returning Officers, Shri Ravindra Garimella, Joint Secretary or Shri Vinay Kumar Mohan, Director, Lok Sabha Secretariat, at the said officer between 11 A.M. and 3 P.M. on any day (other than a public holiday) not later than the 28th June, 2017;

He said each nomination paper shall be accompanied by certified copy of the entry relating to the candidate in the electoral roll of the Parliamentary constituency in which the candidate is registered as an elector and every candidate shall deposit or cause to be deposited a sum of rupees fifteen thousand only. This amount may be deposited in cash with the Returning Officer at the time of presentation of the nomination paper or deposited earlier in the Reserve Bank of India or in a Government Treasury and in the latter case a receipt showing that the said deposit of the sum has been so made is required to be enclosed with the nomination paper.

He said that forms of nomination papers may be obtained from the above said office at the times aforesaid. The nomination papers, other than those rejected under sub-section (4) of section 5B of the Act, will be taken up for scrutiny at the said office in Room No. 18, Ground Floor, Parliament House, New Delhi on 29 June, 2017, at 11 A.M.

Spokesman said the notice of withdrawal of candidatures may be delivered by a candidate, or any one of his proposers or seconders who has been authorized in this behalf in writing by the candidate, to the returning officer before three o’clock in the afternoon of 1 July, 2017.

In the event of the election being contested, the poll will be taken on 17 July, 2017 between the hours of 10 A.M. and 5 P.M. at the places of polling fixed under the rules.

He further said that The Election Commission has brought out a comprehensive booklet covering all aspects of election to the office of the president and copies of the publication can be obtained @Rs 25/- per copy from the Commission’s sale counter or from the offices of Chief Electoral officer from different States and union territories.